“Most state legislators are not doctors, and most haven’t the foggiest notion of either best practices or standards of care. (One has to wonder what else the state’s lawmakers don’t yet understand.) While state Republicans ultimately did agree to add an exception for victims of rape and incest, the fact is that Virginia now joins seven other states in mandating ultrasounds. Women will still have to pay for them out of pocket. (It will cost between $300 to $1,200.) There is still a burdensome 24-hour waiting period that falls most heavily on poor and working women. And there are still reports that have nothing to do with one’s medical choices placed in a woman’s medical record without her consent.” - Dahlia Lithwick, Slate
Remember when Governor Bob McDonnell kinda sorta caved on Virginia’s transvaginal ultrasound bill? Well, a revised version is back - it passed the state Senate on Tuesday, will likely be approved by the House of Delegates and will head to the Governor’s desk to be signed into law.